More than just exercise……

Hey guys!

I’m so sorry I haven’t been posting regularly. I plan to change all of that. Thank you for bearing with me. šŸ™‚ We made a cross country move and we have been trying to adjust into our new normal.

My last post I told you guys that in December of 2013 I knew it had to change. I had decided to do daily cardio and exercise no matter what the scales said. My “fat” clothes were getting tight and I wasn’t going to go up anymore sizes. After finally realizing I WAS WORTH it to The Lord, my husband, and myself I had the momentum to actually accomplish weight loss. I had told myself that I wasn’t allowing quitting to be an option even on days it was super hard.

The exercise was great and I was feeling MUCH better. I was slow as I hadn’t consistently exercised in a very long time but I was sticking with it. I was feeling proud and ready to tackle more. That’s when I decided I really needed to look at what I was eating. We were the family that dabbled in whole foods and I knew I didn’t want to feed my kids things I couldn’t pronounce but that was about the extent of it. I decided to really look at what I was eating. I would have told you I thought I was eating okay. I don’t like fried chicken and burger king so I mean I wasn’t eating horrible I thought. This mentality can be a TRAP!! I downloaded a calorie counter and knew I needed to stay at around 1500-1600 calories a day with burring about 400-450 calories a day through exercise. I started calorie counting foods and was blown away! Some of the “good” foods I was eating were very calorie dense. I am a FIRM believer you can not out train bad nutrition. Now, the formula is simple. Simply put to loose weight you need to burn more calories that you take in. However, I believe our body processes some foods better than others and I’m huge believer in preservatives and additives are very bad for us and very addicting. I also believe once we detox from all the “main stream” foods we crave healthier foods and I know from personal experience I feel SO much better when I eat healthier. With that said, I’m a HUGE advocate of making lifestyle changes. I HATE the word diet as we use it in modern terms. Sure, diet defined is simply what you eat. However in our culture diet means some funky way of eating that will make you loose weight. That’s a TERRIBLE way to approach health and nutrition. If I hadn’t made lifestyle changes I wouldn’t be able to maintain my weight. I also now MUCH prefer to eat healthier and in time your body craves it! With that said, we are all human. I DO eat what I want in moderation. Yes, I still enjoy pizza and foods that aren’t great for us from time to time. While, I don’t have to count calories excessively anymore as I’m pretty experienced with what I’m eating, I would say I follow a balance of 90-10. 90% of the time I eat very healthy but 10% of the time (weekend out to eat meals, date nights, vacations or whatever) I do splurge. I also must say in full disclosure I am HUGE latte fan. That is something my husband and I enjoy picking up each evening. Its our little treat and time to enjoy something special together. I FULLY realize I’m drinking away 300 calories but to me its worth it! I have always accounted for it even in my loosing weight phase because that’s something I knew I personally couldn’t (or didn’t want to) give up. I think its fine to have something like that you enjoy as long as you account for it. Now, if your splurge daily is pizza you prob need to rethink that one šŸ˜‰ But you get my point—IT IS a lifestyle change! I also believe while you can’t out train bad nutrition you can account for things when you know you are going to be eating bad for the occasional meal or special occasion. This can be especially beneficial if you are in a loosing phase.
In the next week or so I will address how to account for weekends or special occasions while loosing weight, some of what I ate a lot and still eat, and how weight training can greatly benefit you loosing weight and toning your body.

Have a great weekend friends and I do promise to be more consistent. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

